Murder in Black Tie
Book 4 in the High Society Lady Detective series
Interested in buying rights? Click here to make an offer

Rights Contact Login For More Details

More About This Title Murder in Black Tie


Top hats and tails. Mink and murder . . . November, 1923. An invitation to a house party at the estate of Parkview Hall is a welcome respite for Olive Belgrave, a newly minted working girl who's become the solver of high society's trickiest problems. But when the sumptuous black tie event turns deadly, Olive's cousin Peter becomes the main suspect. Olive must unmask a sophisticated killer before an innocent man takes the blame . . . because murder doesn't RSVP. Murder in Black Tie is the fourth standalone installment in the High Society Lady Detective series. If you like mysteries with elegant settings, charming characters, and a whodunit that will keep you guessing, you'll love USA Today bestselling author Sara Rosett's series of delightful historical mysteries. Escape into an elegant country home mystery with Murder in Black Tie.

REEDSY DISCOVERY--""Murder in Black Tie" is a highly intriguing mystery with entertaining characters and an English charm." (Jeannette Nikolova)


"USA Today" bestselling author Sara Rosett writes fun mysteries. Her books are lighthearted escapes for readers who enjoy interesting settings, quirky characters, and puzzling mysteries. "Publishers Weekly" called Sara's books, "satisfying," "well-executed," and "sparkling."

Sara loves to get new stamps in her passport and considers dark chocolate a daily requirement. Find out more at


PUBLISHERS WEEKLY--"Rosett’s enchanting fourth High Society Lady Detective mystery (after The Egyptian Antiquities Murder) opens in November 1923 as Olive Belgrave, “a discreet problem solver for the High Society set,” is motoring down from London to Parkview Hall—the home of her aunt, Lady Caroline, and her cousins Peter and Gwen—for a house party. Among the guests are Vincent Payne, who possesses unusual antique maps; Insp. Lucas Longly of Scotland Yard, who’s smitten with Gwen; a wealthy heiress or two; and Mr. Quigley, a scripture-quoting parrot. When Payne is found dead in the conservatory, suspicion falls on Peter, a veteran of WWI, who is still suffering from shell shock. As always, the pacing is snappy, the plot is just complicated enough, and the period details are spot-on. In each successive book, Olive matures, becoming more confident and—slowly but surely—more financially independent. Eager readers will wonder what the next step in her evolution will be."