Murder at Archly Manor
Book 1 in the High Society Lady Detective series from USA Today bestseller Sara Rosett
Interested in buying rights? Click here to make an offer

Rights Contact Login For More Details

More About This Title Murder at Archly Manor

English

A high society murder. A spirited lady detective. Can she out-class the killer before an innocent person takes the fall?
A historical mystery series in the classic tradition of Agatha Christie for fans of Rhys Bowen, Susan Elia MacNeal, M.C. Beaton, and Carola Dunn.

London, 1923. Olive Belgrave needs a job. Despite her aristocratic upbringing, she's penniless. Determined to support herself, she jumps at an unconventional job-looking into the background of her cousin's fiancé, Alfred. Alfred burst into the upper crust world of London's high society, but his answers to questions about his past are decidedly vague. Before Olive can gather more than the basics, a murder occurs at a posh party. Suddenly, every Bright Young Person in attendance is a suspect, and Olive must race to find the culprit because a sly murderer is determined to make sure Olive's first case is her last.

Murder at Archly Manor is the first in the High Society Lady Detective series of charming historical cozy mysteries. If you like witty banter, glamorous settings, and delightful plot twists, you'll love USA Today bestselling author Sara Rosett's series for Anglophiles and mystery lovers alike.Travel back to the Golden Age of detective fiction with Murder at Archly Manor.

English

"USA Today" bestselling author Sara Rosett writes fun mysteries. Her books are lighthearted escapes for readers who enjoy interesting settings, quirky characters, and puzzling mysteries. "Publishers Weekly" called Sara's books, "satisfying," "well-executed," and "sparkling."

Sara loves to get new stamps in her passport and considers dark chocolate a daily requirement. Find out more at SaraRosett.com.

English

PUBLISHERS WEEKLY--"Set in 1923 England, this sprightly series launch from Rosett (the Ellie Avery series), introduces plucky Olive Belgrave, who leaves her father’s home in the village of Nether Woodsmoor for London when it becomes clear that her young stepmother resents her presence and would like nothing more than to marry her off to the sweaty local curate.

However, 'a young woman with a classical education and extensive training in how to be a lady' is not a good candidate for employment, and she struggles to find work. When Olive’s aunt Caroline asks her to look into the background of her cousin Violet’s fiancé, Alfred Eton, explaining that she doesn’t want to deal with “someone not of our class,” Olive jumps at the chance to earn rent money.

At a glamorous house party, where Olive hopes to learn more about Alfred’s past, she witnesses his murder. To save Violet’s reputation, she steps in to find the killer. The play-fair plot provides plenty of surprises for Olive, who proves herself to be a keen hands-on detective. The period details—clothes, language, attitudes—are spot-on. This is a fast, clever, and thoroughly delightful light historical. (BookLife)"

HISTORICAL NOVELS REVIEW--"Less Agatha Christie than Georgette Heyer-meets-The Great Gatsby, Rosett’s foray into the historical realm shimmers with period costume, slang, and fancy motors, as well as the shadow of the Great War. Olive is sleek and resourceful, able to charm information from children and hall porters alike, and the plot delivers all the requisite eccentrics, red herrings, entrapments, and surprise reveals right on cue. Readers will enjoy the posh settings, delicious detail, and the light handling of intrigue and betrayal, and can look forward to more of the same—and hopefully more of the mysteriously alluring Jasper—as Olive sets herself up in the Lady Detective business for the next books." (Misty Urban)

FRESH FICTION--"MURDER AT ARCHLY MANOR is a divine dose of murder and mayhem in 1920s London. This book is loads of fun and a must-read for historical mystery fans. Disappearances in the middle of the night, alter egos, dangerous addictions, and wild parties make for a totally ripping good time and a terrific story. I look forward to reading the next installment in Sara Rosett's High Society Lady Detective series." (Miranda Owen)
loading