Martini Henry

More About This Title Martini Henry

English

Life isn’t an exact science. Things can be troublesome. Like pregnant stepmothers, the ins-and-outs of French existentialism . . . having an unexceptional name. In 1988, 17-year-old Sue Bowl has a diary, big dreams and £4.73. What she wants most of all is to make it as a writer, as well as stop her decadent aunt Coral from spending money she doesn't have. Living in their crumbling ancestral home should provide plenty of inspiration, but between falling in love, hunting for missing heirlooms, and internship applications, things keep getting in the way. So when a young literary professor moves in and catches Sue's eye, life begins to take an unexpected turn . . . From the author of Campari for Breakfast, a witty and enchanting novel about what happens after you think you’ve grown up and fallen in love, perfect for fans of I Capture the Castle; Love, Nina; and Where’d You Go, Bernadette.

English

Sara Crowe is best known as an actress who appeared in Four Weddings and a Funeral. She has won the Olivier Award for Best Supporting Actress, the Variety Club Best Actress Award, and the London Critics Circle Theatre Award for Most Promising Newcomer. Sara’s West End appearances include Private Lives, Calendar Girls, and Hay Fever. She has also toured with Acorn Antiques: the Musical, and appeared in The City Madam for the Royal Shakespeare Company.

English

"I started reading MARTINI HENRY outside in the sunshine. When the sun disappeared I didn’t notice, because the book is so filled with light. Every page brings giddy joy out of tender pockets of loss . . . 3 parts coming-of-age journal, 2 parts historical treasure, 1 part hilarious literary longing, this is a heady cocktail of humanity, humour and heart." —Tamsin Greig"Quirky and funny in spades." —Helen Lederer, author, Losing It"A fun and quirky read for the summer." —OK!"Sara Crowe has written a very intelligent book that intrigues and captivates . . . It’s a book to be savoured and enjoyed, a perfect weekend read!" —Hot Brands Cool Places"Brilliantly funny coming-of-age story ****" —Heat
loading