Interested in buying rights? Click here to make an offer

Rights Contact Login For More Details



The first book in the series introduces our young protagonist.

Bradley Baker is looking for adventure and he doesn’t have to wait long to find it in Sandmouth. Eleven year old Bradley befriends a local boy and together they make a great discovery in the rock pools of Amley’s Cove. Bradley is magically transported into Pathylon where he encounters many challenging obstacles, unusual creatures and more new friends. Faraway in another time dimension, a strange species of arctic bear-like scavengers have journeyed across the Red Ocean aboard their ice-carved ship from the Island of Freytor. The ship’s commander is a ferocious Freytorpian and he has cast a dark evil spell of revenge over the arcane world of Pathylon.

The true King of Pathylon has been unlawfully dethroned by a ruthless Hartopian and the evil curse continues to shroud the darkened world. Bradley is one of twelve allies enlisted by a good Samaritan to embark upon the arduous task of freeing the King and delivering Pathylon from its bounding torment...


David was born in a mining village called Ravenfield near Rotherham in South Yorkshire within the United Kingdom. When he was years old, his parents moved across the road from number to number Braithwell Road (what’s the significance of this I hear you ask???). Well... had three bedrooms and only had two and this is where David’s thirst for storytelling and writing really began! You see... the problem was, he had an older brother called Philip (not a problem really... it was more of an uncomfortable situation back then because when the two boys lived at they had their own bedrooms... when they moved across the road they had to share one... gulp!) Anyhow, when bedtime arrived, Philip would pester his younger brother (our author) to make up stories before they went to sleep. The children’s books David has since written and had published follow the exploits of the young Bradley Baker and his time in the parallel world of Pathylon. David said: “The idea for Bradley Baker’s character and the plots were extracted from original stories I wrote as a child and narrated to my brother.”

This is a brief summary of the story behind David’s children’s adventures idea.... now it’s time for you to discover the new boy hero, created by our Devon based author – a character called Bradley Baker. The first two books in the amazing adventures series appear on the shelves of book stores throughout the UK to thrill and excite... the witches and wizards in J K Rowling’s books (brilliant as they are) have peaked... it’s now time to prepare yourselves for some good old fashioned courage and adventure mixed with a touch of magic and bucket loads of mystery.

David welcomes the opportunity to meet and greet his young fans during school visits in conjunction with UK book signing tours of Waterstone’s stores. The author has launched both Bradley Baker titles on his travels; book one is called ‘The Curse of Pathylon’, which introduces the year old boy hero and his adventures begin when he discovers a sacred gold coin in the rock pools whilst on holiday in Devon. Bradley is then magically transported down the plughole into the world of Pathylon where he encounters many dangerous tasks and unusual creatures.

David started to pen Bradley’s adventures following the millennium celebrations and after a number of rewrites he completed the first tome in , which was then published in . In , the second book in the series was published, which is called ‘The Amulet of Silvermoor’ and takes Bradley back down the plughole on another amazing adventure this time through a disused coal mine), which eventually leads him back into Pathylon. David said: We’re really excited about the release of both titles. They take the main protagonist from a timid shy boy through many stages of bravery and adversity, as the daunting tasks presented to him unfold. I am currently writing book three in the series, which will be titled ‘The Pyramids of Blood’ and I have plans to write more adventures for Bradley, which see him mature into a truly memorable character.”

David is very proud of the Bradley Baker adventure series and there are scenes in the books that describe landmarks about Devon and his own birth place in Yorkshire. Silvermoor, the abandoned coal mine in the second book is actually the colliery where he and his father worked... “Silverwood”. Also the main character in the series Bradley lives in a fictional village called Ravenswood, which is based on David’s own childhood village of “Ravenfield”.

David now resides in Torquay, Devon with his wife Tracey and youngest children Benjamin and Harriette.


Here are some reviews and comments about the books;

Via the David Lawrence Jones author page...
th Feb

Hello David its Samuel from the book shop... the book is so cool so far. It’s like a new Harry Potter for kids! In the top right hand corner there is a volcano and your next book could be about it being made of gold or make lava made of gold and Bradley could go and get it and be followed by rock monsters and both his friends could go with him. It looks awsome :) Samuel Robbins, age

Via the contact page...
th Dec

From the moment I opened the book, I got gripped by the story and found it difficult to put down. The book captures you as if you're in the story yourself following the characters into their adventures. definitely a MUST read no matter what age as I have found that out myself. :-) Lobke, age

Via the contact page...
th Dec
"Thank you for putting my photo on your site. I enjoyed talking to the writer, David Lawrence Jones, and getting my books signed with a map. I have read the st book and I liked how everything linked together at the end and where ever I was I could not put the book down. I am looking forward to reading the next book over Christmas."
Ben Barrow - aged from Bristol

Amazon - out of stars
Wow... this has to be the best thing to hit the bookshelves since Harry Potter!, Nov
By Talitha
This review is from: Bradley Baker and the Curse of Pathylon (Amazing Adventures of Bradley Baker): (Paperback)
I bought this book for my daughter. I had my doubts at first because I thought it was written with boys in mind, but she just hasn't been able to put it down. So I decided to read the first few chapters to find out why and I was instantly hooked. The style of writing in the book and the main character Bradley Baker remind me of stories I used to read when I was a child. It's good old fashioned adventure at it's best and I would recommend this series to anyone looking for a boy hero to replace Harry Potter! It's definately ideal for boys and girls alike and I will be ordering book two. I would also be interested to find out if there will be more books in the Bradley Baker series?

Amazon - out of stars
Bradley Baker Blockbuster, Nov
By Toojiboo (uk) - See all my reviewsThis review is from: The Amazing Adventures of Bradley Baker: Pathylon (Paperback)
On the th of November, I'm off to Waterstones Torquay, to purchase a signed first edition of 'The Amazing Adventures of Bradley Baker' for my daughter, Roxzan.
After the author, David Lawrence Jones's introductory chat at her school and a reading from the book, Roxzan is intrigued and wants more! How can I refuse such a plea, especially as she has offered to keep her room tidy from now on!